Chandimal recalled for South Africa limited-overs series

The Sri Lankan national selectors have picked a 22-member squad for the upcoming limited-overs series against South Africa. Dinesh Chandimal makes a comeback to team, while Kusal Perera will play after finishing his isolation from cricket following testing positive for COVID19.

After not playing in Sri Lanka since March-April, Chandimal has been named as the captain of a new squad. Along with him will be Lahiru Madushanka, Mahesh Theekshana and Pulina Tharanga who have all recently received their first call up to represent Sri Lanka internationally. While Dasun Shanaka is the newly appointed captain for this series against Zimbabwe he’ll be joined by Dhananjaya de Silva who has also earned his place among these players selected from around Asia that are looking to make an impression on selectors ahead of next year’s World Cup.

The final international assignment for both teams before the T20 World Cup is when South Africa play three ODIs followed by as many T20Is in Sri Lanka. The ODI matches will be played at Colombo’s R Premadasa stadium from September 2 to 14, while all of the T-20 games will take place on a single day starting 20th August and ending 1st September also at this same venue.

Squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Binura Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akhila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lahiru Kumara, Lahiru Madushanka, Pulina Tharanga, Maheesh Theekshana.

Leave a Comment

Pin It on Pinterest